Home / Motorsport / Formula 1 / The F1 Constructors Champions in History

The F1 Constructors Champions in History

Williams Grand Prix Engineering (9 Titles)

Currently racing in the F1 championship as Williams Martini Racing is one of the successful constructors from Great Britian. The team was started by Sir Frank Williams in 1977. While the team did not find initial success, it won its first constructors championship in 1980 by scoring twice as many points as the second placed team. Alan Jones was the first Williams Driver to win the Driver’s championship.

williams F1 1

From 1980, the Williams team won the Constructors championship in 1982, 86, 87, 1992, 93, 94, 96 and 97. Many famous drivers have raced for Williams including Alain Prost and Ayrton Senna. It is one of the three teams to win 100 races alongside Ferrari and McLaren. William’s 9 Constructor wins between 1980 and 1997 was beaten only by Ferrari when it surpassed the number in 2000.

McLaren (8 Titles)

McLaren Racing Limited is one of the most successful teams in F1 history, having won 182 races and 8 constructor’s championships. Founded in 1963 by Bruce McLaren, the team won its first constructors championship in 1974. It is the second oldest active team in the sport. McLaren merged with Ron Dennis’ Project Four Racing and after he brought the team out, began the most successful era for the team. Powered by Porsche and later on by Honda engines and having drivers of the repute of Niki Lauda, Alain Prost, and Ayrton Senna, McLaren won 6 constructors championships.


McLaren won again in 1998, and its last success in F1 came in 2008 with current F1 driver and world Champion Lewis Hamilton winning the F1 Driver’s championship. Since then, the team has endured a bleak streak, with the 2014 and 15 seasons being one of the worst seasons for the team. The comeback of Honda as the engine supplier for the team in 2015 did little to change the tide of things. In 2016, the team looks for success with upgraded Honda engines and drivers Fernando Alonso and Jenson Button.


What do you think of McLaren amongst other F1 Constructors Champions? Let us know in the comments.

Continue reading on the F1 Constructors Champions on the next page.

Page 2 of 6123456

About Suhas S

Motorcyclist, Traveler, Aerospace Engineer and your friendly neighborhood Batman. Suhas has been meandering on two wheels since 2008. His love for automobiles, aeroplanes and his passion for travel has brought him here. He's a RC plane hobbyist currently building a Supermarine Spitfire and the Associate Editor at TheMotorLife

Check This Out!


Drivers Oppose New F1 Qualifying System

With F1 mulling over changes to the sport to entice audiences to tune in every …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like TheMotorLife?Already liked? You can close this